‪The Chef Upstairs‬

تعليقات حول - ‪The Chef Upstairs‬, تورونتو

‪12:00 م - 06:00 م‬
الاثنين
09:00 ص - 10:00 م
الثلاثاء
09:00 ص - 10:00 م
الأربعاء
09:00 ص - 10:00 م
الخميس
09:00 ص - 10:00 م
الجمعة
09:00 ص - 11:00 م
السبت
09:00 ص - 11:00 م
الأحد
12:00 م - 06:00 م
نبذة
المدة المقترحة
أكثر من 3 ساعات
اقترح تعديلات لتحسين ما نعرضه.
تحسين هذا الإدراج
المنطقة
العنوان
الجوار: تورونتو القديمة
كيفية الوصول إلى هناك
  • ‪Mount Pleasant‬ • 10 دقائق سيرًا
أفضل الأماكن القريبة
المطاعم
1,874 على بُعد 5 كيلومترات
معالم الجذب
135 على بُعد 5 كيلومترات

4.5
40 تعليق
ممتاز
‪30‬
جيد جدًا
‪2‬
متوسط
‪3‬
سيئ
‪1‬
سيئ جدًا
‪4‬

royjanke
‪Georgetown‬, كندا49 مساهمة
‪So good, we keep coming back!‬
سبتمبر 2021
‪Last night we did our fourth cooking class with The Chef Upstairs, and it was our first in-person experience. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the previous classes, and it was even that much better without the need to do it via Zoom. (Top marks the Chef Julian and the team though, they made the pivot to online classes last year like it was second nature. They were an excellent experience as well!)

This night's theme was "From Paris With Love" and the menu consisted of Potato Leek Soup and Coq au vin, followed by Crepes for dessert. With patient and professional guidance the meal the class created was truly restaurant-quality affair. All the dishes were flavourful and plentiful, with all the ingredients complimenting their dishes perfectly. We learned that even what we would consider the most unlikely of ingredient pairings can come together in delicious ways. For instance, beets with a chicken dish.

Throughout the evening, Chef Julian rotated the entire group through all of the food preparation stations, including hands-on time at the large gas range. His friendliness, excitement, and absolute joy of cooking left us with an evening we will never forget.

We will definitely do this again and highly recommend The Chef Upstairs classes, no matter if they are in-person or online, you will learn how to prepare new dishes and have a fantastic time doing it.‬
كُتب بتاريخ 18 سبتمبر 2021
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

TheDohDohs
‪Waterdown‬, كندا48 مساهمة
‪Great Experience‬
العائلة • أبريل 2021
‪We have done a couple of virtual classes with the Chef Upstairs and have had great experiences. My teen daughter and her friends just did a fajita party with Chef Pierre, it was fabulous! He gave excellent instruction and kept the girls engaged. I highly recommend this service, especially as some entertainment during lockdown.‬
كُتب بتاريخ 15 أبريل 2021
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Stuart Robertson
مساهمتيْن
‪The Chef Upstairs‬
العائلة • مارس 2020
‪HUGE thank you to Chef Elyse & Roberto for the tremendous birthday party they put on for Sam. Not only did Elyse flex to the needs of Sam's younger brother Hugh who's 6yo but Roberto kept the older kiddos engaged & entertained with tasks. Both Elyse & Roberto were patient; kind & thoughtful with our group to the point that both my husband & I were amazed. ‬
كُتب بتاريخ 2 مارس 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad that Sam (and Hugo!) had such a great time. Come cook with us again soon :D
كُتب بتاريخ 4 مارس 2020
يعبر هذا الرد عن الرأي الشخصي لممثل الإدارة ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Sofia M
تورونتو, كندا68 مساهمة
‪Great Experience! Left with valuable skills; would definitely go again!‬
يناير 2020
‪I was so excited to take "Canadian Winter Comforts", with Chef Pierre Beaumier. On the menu: a spiced squash and ginger soup, cornish hen with maple-glazed root vegetables and kale, and maple-whiskey butter tarts.

Before we started working with the very sharp knives, Chef Pierre gave us a thorough tutorial. We began with the basics like how to hold the knife properly to have the best control over what you’re doing. This was news to me, apparently I've been holding the handle too far back for years. No one was sent off to do a new task without support and guidance from the Chef. I’m actually glad we were placed on the soup team because we got to see our dish through to the end and learned tips on plating as well!

The large family style kitchen is reminiscent of a cooking show, with ample seating around the counter. Drinks are available to purchase before the class to enjoy as you cook and eat. Before the cooking begins, Chef goes over the menu, ingredients we’ll be using and demonstrates useful techniques. Then we’re divided up into teams to work on the various courses at the same time. Chef does an incredible job guiding a large group through the activity while empowering you to take initiative and make the recipe your own.

I genuinely enjoyed the experience and would definitely attend another cooking class with the Chef Upstairs. I learned a lot of useful skills that I’ve already starting implementing in my own kitchen. It was a fresh take on recipes I was familiar with and since I usually lean towards a sweater flavour profile when I cook, it was nice to experience savoury recipes I can use to switch things up at home. Chef Pierre was a great instructor! I was amazed by his multitasking skills and uncanny ability to seemingly be able to be exactly where he was needed at any given time.‬
كُتب بتاريخ 28 يناير 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you again Sofia! We are so glad that you enjoyed and appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. See you in the kitchen again soon!
كُتب بتاريخ 29 يناير 2020
يعبر هذا الرد عن الرأي الشخصي لممثل الإدارة ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

trevhunter
تورونتو, كندا4 مساهمات
‪A great experience for a group‬
ديسمبر 2019
‪We had a great interactive experience for our group - it was a well-paced, fun and tasty evening.

We booked this for a group of 12 as a change from a restaurant dinner and it worked out really well. The location was private and cosy and we were all made to feel welcome when we arrived.

Once dinner preparation started, we had a good pace from creating starters and desserts as well as the main course. There was always something to do and pitch in, but it wasn't too rushed at all.

Chef Elyse and Dave were fantastic hosts - lots of fun and really helped us learn a few things while also making things fun.

The food was tasty - despite us being involved in it's preparation!

Overall, a good time and a great experience compared to a standard night out.‬
كُتب بتاريخ 28 ديسمبر 2019
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks Trevor! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and hope to cook with you again soon. Happy holidays and a happy new year
كُتب بتاريخ 29 ديسمبر 2019
يعبر هذا الرد عن الرأي الشخصي لممثل الإدارة ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

cwn143
تورونتو, كندا28 مساهمة
‪Good from far and far from good‬
رجال الأعمال • ديسمبر 2019
‪We had the chef next door for a private chef experience - for the price we paid per head at 130.00 - it was less than subpar - I am extremely disappointed

Flavours were bland, vegetables and meat over cooked, not even premium cut meats like flank and what seemed like frozen fish fillets

Dessert was not good

I have had many private chef dinners and I must say - just extremely disappointed

And they made such a mess on my floors and didn’t even bother to clean - crumbs, pepper etc

Anyways 2 thumbs down and would not recommend them

Do my photos look worth 130 to you?‬
كُتب بتاريخ 20 ديسمبر 2019
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Cheryl, We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your first experience with us and are surprised you did not express this to us before your second at home experience with our same chef just 5 days after this meal. While we certainly appreciate all feedback, we do wish you would have emailed us directly after your first dinner so we could have taken steps to ensure you were happy, rather than feeling the need to post an inaccurate review before we had the chance to rectify anything for your next event. Your pricing was not $130 per head, and your photos do not reflect the entire menu prepared for your dinner. Apparently, your home was left neat and tidy... I take this directly from your email to me on December 15th (the day after your event): "for thurs night if you can have him Add a touch more salt and pepper this would be great. Otherwise they were great! The place was left tidy and Paula was really nice! See you guys again thurs" Again, we are very sorry that you were displeased with your experience and wish we had been given the chance to make things per your expectations (though it seems we did per your email above!). We have nothing but 5 star reviews in regards to Chef Walt and his at-home service and we are sorry that it fell short of perfect for your evening. We will be in touch with you now to discuss further.
كُتب بتاريخ 21 ديسمبر 2019
يعبر هذا الرد عن الرأي الشخصي لممثل الإدارة ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Irini M
تورونتو, كندامساهمة
‪Amazing night‬
نوفمبر 2019
‪My husband and I went yesterday and it was an amazing experience. food and wine quality was excellent, Chef was very knowledgeable and experienced. will do it again for sure.‬
كُتب بتاريخ 30 نوفمبر 2019
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Erin G
تورونتو, كندا23 مساهمة
‪A great night out but not totally what I expected‬
نوفمبر 2019
‪My friend and I had a great evening making a French-inspired meal. The kitchen was very nice and completely prepped and ready for when we arrived. My only note is that it is not as interactive as I had believed it would be. We still got to take part in the cooking but everyone only got a chance to cook 1 maybe 2 things. For example, we just got to chop and cook the onions for the french onion soup. Since everything was happening all at once it was hard to know what other people were making. We did get a recipe at the end though so we could make it ourselves.
From my research, this was slightly cheaper than some of the other similar experiences in Toronto and I really thought it is worth the money.‬
كُتب بتاريخ 24 نوفمبر 2019
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review! We are glad you had a great time. Our website does state that our classes use a fun, interactive team approach in our single stove family style kitchen to prepare the meal. We have run classes this way for over 10 years and find the format works really well! Now that you have had the chance to experience our event style, we hope you will join us again!
كُتب بتاريخ 25 نوفمبر 2019
يعبر هذا الرد عن الرأي الشخصي لممثل الإدارة ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Adri
مساهمة
‪A great experience every time‬
زوجان • أكتوبر 2019
‪This was our third visit to The Chef Upstairs and it was another fun experience! This time we brought another couple with us and they loved it. Chef Elise and David were fun and knowledgeable. My daughter attended the Christmas camp last year and is asking to go back. Always a great time!‬
كُتب بتاريخ 2 نوفمبر 2019
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks Adriana. So glad that you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to cooking with you again soon!
كُتب بتاريخ 3 نوفمبر 2019
يعبر هذا الرد عن الرأي الشخصي لممثل الإدارة ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Alexander H
72 مساهمة
‪Not a cooking class‬
نوفمبر 2019
‪The people are nice but this is not an experience you should ever consider signing up for.

It's basically an overpriced cooking demonstration followed by eating the most mediocre food I've ever been served at this price point.

Here is what I expected. Each person or couple would get like their own burner and ingredients and would do all the prep and such and learn each dish. The reality is the chef doing most of the work beforehand followed by parceling out assignments that just insure that all you get is a sliver of the dish. i.e. if I am chopping onions, I am missing everything about how the meat gets cooked or how something else is being prepared.

So, you'll learn nothing.

That leaves the food...which is terrible...I've been to Thailand six times...this was the least authentic Thai food I've ever seen...and badly prepared...the meat was rock hard and way overcooked (searing meat does not take 8 minutes! My lord the meat was like old shoe leather), the rice was undercooked, everything was served lukewarm, the Pad Thai looked nothing like any I've ever eaten.

Here's the thing...a cooking demo where people "help" could be fun at $50 if they were honest about what it was. Charging $112 (with tax) per person (plus drinks) is just setting your money on fire.

Do yourself a favor, watch some youtube videos and go eat 3 meals at a real Thai restaurant. You'll pay the same price, enjoy it more and not have to spend three hours chopping garlic.‬
كُتب بتاريخ 1 نوفمبر 2019
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Alexander, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize that this was your experience and will certainly be passing your notes along to our chef to ensure all guests are enjoying their meals. We have always run our classes as a team approach preparation, and not with individual stations, and this is indicated on our website. We find that this format works quite well. Again, we apologize that this was your experience and appreciate your feedback.
كُتب بتاريخ 3 نوفمبر 2019
يعبر هذا الرد عن الرأي الشخصي لممثل الإدارة ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

عرض نتائج 1-10 من أصل 40
هل هناك أي شيء مفقود أو غير دقيق؟
اقترح تعديلات لتحسين ما نعرضه.
تحسين هذا الإدراج